There is a weird kind of bug in that is appeared in the latest version of WhatsApp which lets even the blocked contacts message you and see your stories.
In this article, we are going to talk about just that and some measures that can prevent this from happening.
Just a few days ago I wrote down the post about how you can get the latest features on WhatsApp before anyone else could get them.
It required you to be a beta tester for WhatsApp. I had also mentioned that there are some pros as well as some cons to becoming a beta tester.
Show the new version of WhatsApp for both Android as well as iOS, has this weird bug where people are getting messages from contacts they have already blocked on WhatsApp.
Guys please, why am I still getting WhatsApp messages from this person even when I already blocked him?
Is there a new way to blocking a number from sending you messages on WhatsApp?
Please help!!! pic.twitter.com/GuUrq1nSjT
— Ariyo Ose (@Osesax) May 22, 2018
Several users on Twitter started tweeting about this weird issue on WhatsApp.
Since the bank appears for both Android as well as iPhone users, this seems to be a server side issue, which, fortunately, can be fixed from WhatsApps side without you having to do anything else.
It may seem a small bag, but imagine getting messages from your ex, girlfriend/boyfriend / Boss / that annoying relative,
WhatsApp is tripping. I’m getting messages from people on my blocked list. They’re viewing my statuses and all 😱
— beloved (@chiilloutamara) May 22, 2018
How to prevent this from happening to you.
You may also have blocked a few contacts on WhatsApp, and you may not want to hear from them again. And you really don’t have to.
All you need to do is, unblock the contacts from WhatsApp and block them again so that it gets updated on WhatsApp servers.
Another thing you can do to stop this from happening, space by deleting these contacts from your phone book and limit your display picture stories and status to be visible to only people in your contact list.
This will ensure that your display picture or your status messages are not visible to the people outside of your friends or family.