Friday, November 26, 2021

What Happens When You Block on WhatsApp?

Must Read

Asif Ahmedhttp://techtippr.com
Founder and Cheif Editor of Techtippr, Get in touch with me on Twitter or Enjoy my Stories on Instagram. I think they are interesting. :-)

WhatsApp is used by over 2 billion people worldwide, which makes it clear that it is the most popular messaging app. 

Unless you are not deeply integrated into the Apple ecosystem where people use I message, all your crucial messaging with friends and family would be happening on WhatsApp. 

It is also targeted by companies, salespeople, and even scammers, to reach millions of people without much effort. So you must learn all about the app so that you can use it in the best way possible. 

In this article, we will be learning what happens when you block someone on WhatsApp, why I blocked them in the first place and what all the alternatives you can follow instead of blocking someone. 

Why Block People in the First Place?

Many scammers are trying to scam you by selling something or have gotten your number from other sources. 

One popular source is OLX, where you try to sell your product, and someone who is interested asks for your number, and they start contacting you on WhatsApp so that they can scam you by tricking you into paying them instead of paying you. 

Some people also block their partners when they break up, friendships break, or it’s just an annoying relative or a neighbour sending you unsolicited messages. 

But some people do not want to block anyone in fear or embarrassment. What will happen if that Person figures without that? You have blocked them. This is why I am writing this article to let you know what will happen when you block someone on WhatsApp.

What happens when you block someone on WhatsApp?

If you block someone, they wouldn’t be notified that you have blocked them. It is only through assumption they can figure out whether or not someone has blocked them. 

The com in ways to know that they have been blocked is, is the blockers display photo is not visible, messages don’t get delivered, calls don’t go through, but these all things happen in some other scenarios as well. 

They can’t view your Display Photo.

When you block someone, some part of their access to your account gets Limited, and your display photo is one of the things that get limited. One of them is the Display Photo. 

But showing no DP on a WhatsApp account doesn’t mean a person has blocked someone because you can set who can view your display photo from the privacy section of WhatsApp settings. Currently, there are three options at the time of writing: Nobody, Your contacts, and Everyone.

Blocked Person’s messages won’t get delivered to you.

You may already be aware that when you send someone a message on WhatsApp, a single tick appearing on your message means that the message has been sent from your side and the double tick mark means it has been delivered, and when the double ticks get a blue colour, it means the message has been read.

But if someone is blocked and tries to send you a message, the message would be sent from the sender’s side but wouldn’t be delivered. 

However, there are many other scenarios where the message doesn’t get a double tick, meaning the message is delivered. If the recipient does not have an active internet connection, the messages would still have a single take in the sender’s chat window. 

The same goes for the audio and video calls as well, they wouldn’t go through, and the recipient won’t even be notified that someone is trying to call or message. 

How to Block Someone on WhatsApp

The process of blocking someone is different on Android and iOS.

On Android

Open that Person WhatsApp chat, tap on the three dots appearing on the top right-hand side. It will give you a bunch of options. One of them would be to Block Contact. Video

On iOS

Open the Person WhatsApp chat, Tap on the contact name, appearing on the top, which takes you to a page where you see different options, scroll down a bit, and you will find the option to Block Contact.

Once you have blocked the WhatsApp contact, you can also archive it if you do not want it to appear in the chat list. To Archive, you can long-press on the chat from the chat list, which will give you a few options one of them would be Archive.

Alternatives to Blocking Someone on WhatsApp 

Well, old age relatives, a distant cousin might not be as dangerous as the scammers and strangers, so you might not have to block everyone who enjoys you. 

WhatsApp has a feature called nude which was previously available for groups, it is now available for individual contacts as well, and when you decide to meet someone, your phone does not Buzz every time they message you.

You also can turn off the notifications so that you don’t even get notifications, which is a big help since you are not pulled into time-wasting charts that drop in your WhatsApp. 

To mute someone, long press on the chat in the chat list, it will give you your actions, and mute will be one of them. Alternatively, you can do it from the chat page of that particular user by tapping on the contact name appearing on the top of the chat window and then tapping on the mute option. 

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

10 − 9 =

Freshly Published

How to Post Longer 60 Second Stories on Instagram

In the last few years, Instagram has been a popular social media platform for people who enjoy sharing their...

More Articles Like This